Board of Directors

The Board of Directors’ responsibilities include establishing policy, providing oversight, and setting direction and vision to ensure SDRMA meets its mission, obligations and commitment to its members.

Board meetings are held on a regularly scheduled basis on the first Wednesday and Thursday of the month (occasional exceptions). Meetings are conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Ralph M. Brown Act (California Government Code Section 54950 et seq.).

SDRMA’s Board of Directors consist of seven directors elected from member agencies participating in both SDRMA’s Property/Liability and Workers’ Compensation Programs.

Current Board Members

Mike Scheafer, President

SDRMA Board Member Since 2014, Current Term 2018-2021
Ethics Certificate
Form 700

Mike Scheafer

Mike Scheafer was elected to the SDRMA Board of Directors in January of 2014. Mr Scheafer, an insurance professional with over 40 years of experience, has a keen perspective in the risks faced by individuals as well as public entities. He holds a Community College Insurance Education teaching credential and has taught insurance continuing education and licensing classes for various institutions. He has served in leadership positions on numerous not for profit boards including The Boys and Girls Club, Little League Baseball, The Costa Mesa Senior Center, and is known as “Mr. Fish Fry” in Costa Mesa for his leadership with Lions Clubs International where he also served as District Governor.

Mr. Scheafer has served on the Costa Mesa City Council, the Costa Mesa Parks and Recreation Commission, and as Chairman of the City of Costa Mesa 60th Anniversary Committee. Prior to his appointment to the Costa Mesa City Council, he previously served as Director of Costa Mesa Sanitary District (CMSD) where he currently serves as a member of the board.

Sandy A. Seifert-Raffelson, Vice-President

SDRMA Board Member Since 2012, Current Term 2020-2024
Ethics Certificate
Form 700

Sandy Raffelson

Sandy A. Seifert-Raffelson was elected to the SDRMA Board of Directors on January 1, 2020. Mrs. Raffelson
holds a bachelor degree in Business Administration with a minor in Sociology and Accounting; has 15 years experience in special district bookkeeping, accounting and auditing; and has completed her District Clerk Certificate, CSDA Governance Foundation Leadership Academy and completed the Recognition in Special Districts Governance Award.

Mrs. Raffelson is the Finance and Administration Manager for Herlong Public Utility District and has been involved with the District since the beginning of its conception as Herlong Utility Cooperative, later changing to Herlong Utility Incorporated, and finally to a Public Utility District. Mrs. Raffelson has strong business, community and family values.

Robert Swan, Secretary

SDRMA Board Member Since 2016, Current Term 2020-2024
Ethics Certificate
Form 700

Robert Swan

Robert Swan was elected to the SDRMA Board of Directors on January 1, 2020. He holds a B.S. in Physics from the University of Wisconsin and an M.S. in Computer Science from San Jose State University. A native of Wisconsin, he found himself in the Bay Area after release from 3 years of active duty in the USAF and never left. A thirty year career in the semiconductor industry included positions in both engineering management and product line business management. Since 2009, Robert has lived full time in Groveland’s Pine Mountain Lake development, where he is a member of several community organizations.

Mr. Swan has been a member of the governing Board of the Groveland Community Services District (GCSD) since being appointed in July 2013. Mr. Swan was elected to a 4-year term in the November 2014 general election and served as GCSD Board President from 2014 and 2015. GCSD supplies potable water, wastewater collection and treatment, and fire protection services to an unincorporated part of Tuolumne County that has approximately 3,500 permanent residents and a summer population that reaches 12,000 on weekends.

Jean Bracy, SDA, Director

SDRMA Board Member Since 2010, Current Term 2018-2021
Ethics Certificate
Form 700

Jean Bracy

Jean Bracy was elected to the SDRMA Board of Directors on January 1, 2010. Ms. Bracy
holds a Master Certificate in Labor Relations from the California Public Employers Labor Relations Association and has a wide range of experience with organizational structures; long term and vision planning; development of staff and volunteers; and resource and program management. In addition, she is a qualified Special District Administrator and has completed the Special District Leadership Academy.

Ms. Bracy is the Deputy Director of Administrative Services for the Mojave Desert Air Quality Management District, a regulatory agency implementing regulations from both the Federal and State Clean Air Acts, and her areas of responsibility include Finance and Budget, Human Resources, Information Systems, Risk Management, Fleet and Facilities.

Jesse Claypool, Director

SDRMA Board Member Since 2020, Current Term 2020-2024
Ethics Certificate
Form 700

Jesse Claypool was elected to the SDRMA Board on January 1, 2020.

Mr. Claypool has completed the CSDA’s Special District Leadership Academy and received CSDA’s Special District Governance certificate. He also holds certificates of completion for CSDA’s General Manager Evaluation, Exercising Legislative Authority, Achieving Transparency, and Extraordinary Leader trainings.

Mr. Claypool currently serves as the Board Chair of the Honey Lake Valley Resource Conservation District, an agency dedicated to conserve, restore, and sustain local agricultural and natural resources for those who live, work, or visit Lassen County. He also serves on the board of a Regional Water Management Group and as a member of the County of Lassen’s Civil Grand Jury.

Mr. Claypool has previously served two years on a Technical Advisory Committee for the prevention of violence against schools K-12 and one term on a local elementary school board.

David Aranda, SDA, Director

SDRMA Board Member Since 1998, Current Term 2018-2021
Ethics Certificate
Form 700

David Aranda

David Aranda has served as a member of the SDRMA Board of Directors since 1998. Committed to advocating and strengthening special districts through sound governance, Mr. Aranda is an active member of the California Special Districts Association (CSDA), fulfilling a variety of roles within the Association, including serving on the Alliance Executive Council and President of the Special District Leadership Foundation.

Mr. Aranda is the General Manager for Stallion Springs CSD.

Timothy Unruh, SDA, Director

SDRMA Board Member Since 2018, Current Term 2018-2021
Ethics Certificate
Form 700

Timothy Unruh

Timothy Unruh was elected to the SDRMA Board of Directors on January 1, 2018. Mr. Unruh holds a BA degree in Ag. Business with an Economic Emphasis and has obtained his SDA Certification, District Clerk Certificate, Supervisor Safety Specialist Certificate and completed the Recognition in Special Districts Governance Award.

Mr. Unruh is Manager at the Kern County Cemetery District, sits on the Kern Mosquito and Vector Control District Board of Directors, and currently sits as a Director on the California Association of Public Cemeteries and Kern County Special Districts Association.